Yakumo alpha Hard reset Soft resetResetting Your Yakumo alpha
Caution: Resetting will cause unsaved data to be lost.
Resetting your Yakumo alpha is similar to restarting your desktop computer.
It restarts the operating system, but you will lose any unsaved data.
Occasionally, you may need to reset your Yakumo alpha; for example, you should reset:
- After you restore data from your desktop computer.
- When your Yakumo alpha stops responding; in other words, it appears to be frozen or locked up.
1. Remove the SD/MMC card (if installed).
2. Use the stylus to press the soft reset switch (position 1, see figure).
Remove the SD/MMC card (if installed).
In some cases, you may need to restore your Yakumo alpha to the factory default state by clearing the memory (RAM) from your Yakumo alpha. For example, you should clear the memory:
- When your Yakumo alpha does not respond after being reset.
- When you forget your password.
To ensure the integrity of your data should it be necessary to clear the memory, you are advised to regularly synchronize your data (via ActiveSync) with your desktop computer or back up (with a backup utility) to a storage card.
Do not slide the battery switch unless it is necessary.
Follow this procedure to clear the memory from your Yakumo alpha:
1. Backup your information if necessary.
2. Disconnect all cables, including the AC adapter, from your Yakumo alpha.
3. Stop all running programs by tapping Settings - System tab - Memory icon - Running Programs tab - Stop All.
4. Use the stylus to slide the battery switch to the left (OFF position).
7. Follow the onscreen instructions to complete the setup wizard.
8. Reestablish a partnership with your desktop computer.
9. You may also want to restore data to your Yakumo alpha from your most recent backup file.
NOTE: If the battery completely runs out of power and is not charged in time, you will get
the same result as when you restore the factory default state.