Resetting your V37
CAUTION: Resetting will cause unsaved data to be lost.
Resetting your V37 is similar to restarting your PC. It restarts the operating system, but you will lose any unsaved data.
Occasionally, you may need to reset your V37. For example, you should reset your V37:
• After you restore data from your PC.
• When your V37 stops responding. (In other words, it appears to be "frozen" or "locked up.")
Follow this procedure to reset your V37:
1 Remove the memory card (if installed).
2 Unscrew the cap at the top of the stylus. Use the pointed tip of the cap to press the reset button on the side of your V37.
Restoring V37 Factory Defaults
In some cases, you may need to restore your V37 to the factory default settings by clearing the memory (RAM) from your V37. For example, you should clear the memory:
• When your V37 does not respond after being reset.
• When you forget your password.
Clearing the memory means all data you have entered in RAM, including all files, system settings, and additional programs you have installed, will be erased.
(Programs installed to ROM at the factory are not affected.)
• To ensure the integrity of your data should it be necessary to clear the memory, you are
advised to regularly back up to your PC (using ActiveSync), or to an optional SD card (using the backup application).
• Do not push the battery switch unless it is necessary.
Follow this procedure to clear the memory from your V37:
- Disconnect all cables, including the AC adapter; from your V37.
- Unscrew the cap at the top of the stylus. Use the pointed tip of the cap to push the battery switch to the OFF (up) position.
- Wait for three (3) minutes then push the battery switch to the ON (down) position.
- The Notification indicator will flash red for approximately 30 seconds, and then your V37 will automatically turn on and display the Welcome Wizard screen.
NOTE: If the battery runs completely out of power and is not re-charged in time, the memory of your V37 will be cleared.