Performing a soft reset

All records and add-on applications stored on your CLIÉ handheld are retained
even after performing a soft reset.
Notes
• After the RESET button is pressed, it takes a while before the Preferences
screen is displayed. Do not press the RESET button again while resetting.
• Do not press the RESET button with anything other than the stylus, as a
malfunction may occur.

Restarting your CLIÉ™ handheld

Gently press the RESET button with the stylus.
The system shuts down and your CLIÉ handheld restarts.
After restarting, it displays “palm POWERED”, “SONY” and “CLIÉ”,
followed by the Preferences screen for setting up the time and date.

Sony Clie PEG UX50 hard reset

Performing a hard reset

If the soft reset does not solve the problem, you will need to perform a hard

reset to restart your CLIÉ handheld.
Notes
• All records and add-on applications stored on your CLIÉ
handheld will be erased by performing a hard reset. (All records
and add-on applications stored on Internal Media will be retained.)
• Perform a hard reset only if a soft reset does not solve the problem.

  1. Slide down and hold the POWER/HOLD switch.
  2. Press the RESET button gently with the stylus, and then
    release the stylus.
  3. Note
    Keep the POWER/HOLD switch held down.

    Sony Clie PEG UX50 hard reset

     

    3. Wait for more than three seconds after the palm POWERED

    screen is displayed, and release the POWER/HOLD switch.
    A message “Erase all data?” is displayed.

    4. PressSony Clie PEG UX50 hard reset(Page Up) on the hardware keyboard.

    Sony Clie PEG UX50 hard reset

    Tip
    If you want to cancel the hard reset, press any key other than Sony Clie PEG UX50 hard reset (Page Up).

    The Backup data dialog box is displayed.
    5. Tap [No] after verifying the message on the dialog box.

    Sony Clie PEG UX50 hard reset

    The hard reset is performed.
    (All records and add-on applications stored on Internal Media will be
    retained.)

    Tip
    When you tap [Yes], the last data you saved will be restored on your CLIÉ
    handheld.

    After restarting, your CLIÉ handheld displays “palm POWERED”, “SONY”
    and “CLIÉ”, followed by the SETUP screen.

    After a hard reset, only the current date and time are retained. Formats,
    Preferences, and other controls revert to the factory settings.
    Notes
    • After the RESET button is pressed, it takes a while before the Setup screen is
    displayed. Do not press the RESET button again while resetting.
    • If Sony Clie PEG UX50 hard reset (Page Up) is not pressed long enough, the hard reset may not be
    performed.

    General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.