Restarting your CLIÉ™ handheld


Normally, you do not need to reset your CLIÉ handheld. However, if your CLIÉ handheld
does not turn on or respond, performing a soft reset may solve the problem.
To reset your CLIÉ handheld, follow the procedure below

 

Performing a soft reset

All records and add-on applications stored on your CLIÉ handheld are retained
even after performing a soft reset.

Gently press the RESET button with the stylus.
The system shuts down and your CLIÉ handheld restarts.
After restarting, you will see on the screen displays “palm POWERED”
followed by “SONY”, “CLIÉ”, and then the Preferences screen for setting
up the time and date.

Sony Clie PEG TJ27 hard reset

Notes
• After the RESET button is pressed, it takes a while before the Preferences
screen is displayed. Do not press the RESET button again while resetting.
• Do not press the RESET button with anything other than the stylus, as a
malfunction may occur.
• Do not press any other buttons when you press the RESET button

 

Performing a Clie hard reset

If the soft reset does not solve the problem, you may need to perform a hard
reset to restart your CLIÉ handheld.

Notes
• All records and add-on applications stored on your CLIÉ
handheld will be erased by performing a hard reset.
• Perform a hard reset only if a soft reset does not solve the problem.
However, you can restore the data if you have made a backup on your computer
via the HotSync® operation*.
* Note that some data cannot be backed up.

1 Slide down and hold the POWER/HOLD switch.
2 Press the RESET button gently with the stylus, and then
release the stylus.

Note
Keep the POWER/HOLD switch held down.

Sony Clie PEG TJ27 hard reset

3 Continue holding the POWER/HOLD switch in the on
position until “palm POWERED” is displayed on the
screen.
A message “Erase all data?” is displayed.

4 Press Sony Clie PEG TJ27 hard reset (the Left button) on your CLIÉ handheld.

Sony Clie PEG TJ27 hard reset

Tip
If you want to cancel the hard reset, press any button other than Sony Clie PEG TJ27 hard reset (the Left
button).

The hard reset is performed.

After restarting, your CLIÉ handheld displays “palm POWERED”, “SONY”
and “CLIÉ”, followed by the SETUP screen

After a hard reset, only the current date and time are retained. Formats,
Preferences, and other controls revert to the factory settings.

Notes
• After the RESET button is pressed, it takes a while before the Setup screen is
displayed. Do not press the RESET button again while resetting.
• If Sony Clie PEG TJ27 hard reset(the Left button) is not pressed long enough, the hard reset may not be
performed.
• (Only available for certain models or areas.) In order to change the language
settings, you need to perform a hard reset.

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.