Restarting your Sony CLIÉ™ handheld
You do not usually need to restart your CLIÉ handheld.
However, your CLIÉ handheld may no longer turn on or respond to your
operations for some reason. In such a case, you may be able to solve your
problem by resetting your CLIÉ handheld to restart.
To perform a reset, follow the steps below to get your CLIÉ handheld running
again.
Performing a soft reset
All records and entries stored on your CLIÉ handheld are retained even after
performing a soft reset.

Sony Clie PEG SJ33 hard reset

2 Use the stylus pin to gently press the RESET button.
The system shuts down and then restarts.
After restarting, the system displays “palm
powered,” “CLIÉ” and “SONY” followed
by the Preferences screen for setting the
time and date.

Sony Clie PEG SJ33 hard reset

Notes
• Do not press the RESET button again until the Preferences screen is displayed.
• Always press the RESET button with the stylus pin, as malfunction may occur if
you use other objects.

Performing a hard reset
If a soft reset does not solve your problem, you need to perform a hard reset to
restart your CLIÉ handheld.
Notes
• By performing a hard reset, all records and add-on applications stored
on your CLIÉ handheld will be erased.
• Perform a hard reset only if a soft reset does not solve your problem.
However, you can restore data on your CLIÉ handheld if you have backed up data to
your computer or “Memory Stick” media.

1 Slide down the POWER/HOLD switch.
2 Slide and hold the POWER/HOLD switch down, then use
the stylus pin to gently press and release the RESET
button.

Sony Clie PEG SJ33 hard reset

3 When the “palm powered” screen is displayed, release
the POWER/HOLD switch after three seconds.
The message warning that you are about to erase all the data stored on your
CLIÉ handheld is displayed.
4 Press the scroll Sony SJ33 hard reset button on your CLIÉ handheld.

Sony Clie PEG SJ33 hard reset

A hard reset is performed on your CLIÉ handheld.

After restarting, the system displays “palm powered,” “CLIÉ” and “SONY”
followed by the Welcome screen

After a hard reset, only the current date and time are retained. Formats,
Preferences and other settings are restored to the default settings.
Notes
• Do not press the RESET button again until the Welcome screen is displayed.
• If the scroll button is not pressed for long enough, a hard reset may not be performed.




Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.!