Resetting your Treo 680 smartphone

Performing a soft reset
Performing a soft reset is similar to restarting a computer. If your smartphone is not responding or you have trouble synchronizing with your computer, a soft reset may help. All your info is retained when you perform a soft reset.
1 Remove the battery from your smartphone, and then reinsert it.

NOTE The reset begins when you reinsert the battery.

2 At the end of the soft reset, Date & Time Preferences appears. Select
Done.

Performing a Palm Treo 680 system reset

A system reset, also called a safe or warm reset, tells your smartphone to stop what it’s doing and start over again without loading any system extras. If your smartphone loops or freezes during or after a soft reset, a system reset may help.
Performing a system reset can release your smartphone from an endless loop so that you can uninstall a third-party application
that may be causing the looping.
1. Remove the battery from your smartphone, and then reinsert it.

2. When the Palm logo appears, press and hold Palm Treo 680 hard reset until the black status bar at the bottom of the screen fills and
disappears, and then release Palm Treo 680 hard reset .
3. Delete the third-party application that you suspect is causing the problem.
4. Perform a soft reset. The wireless features of your smartphone are not available until you complete this step.

Performing a Treo 680 hard reset

A hard reset erases all information and third-party software on your smartphone.
Never perform a hard reset without first trying a soft reset and a system reset, and trying to resolve third-party software
issues.

After a hard reset, you can restore previously synchronized information the next time you sync.
IMPORTANT If you set a password on your smartphone, performing a hard reset reformats your smartphone. This is a more
severe form of a hard reset, which removes all your information, and restores your formats, preferences, and other settings to the factory default settings.

TIP Some third-party applications do not create a backup on your computer when you synchronize. If you perform a hard reset, you
may lose data in these applications and you will need to reinstall the application after the hard reset. Please contact the application’s developer to find out which data is backed up during synchronization.

1. Remove the battery from your smartphone, and then reinsert it.

2. When the Palm logo appears, press and hold Power/End Palm Treo 680 hard reset until the black status bar at the bottom of the screen
fills and disappears, and then release Power/End Palm Treo 680 hard reset.

3. When the Erase all data? prompt appears, press Palm Treo 680 hard reset to confirm the hard reset.

IMPORTANT If a Reformatting in progress message appears, do not touch your smartphone until the process is complete. This may take up to 10 minutes.
4. When the language selection screen appears, select the same language you selected for your desktop software.

IMPORTANT Always use the same language for your smartphone, your computer operating system, and your desktop software. Otherwise, you may lose information or have difficulty with synchronization. Support is not provided for mismatched language setups.

5. (Optional) If you want to confirm that the hard reset was successful, press Applications Palm Treo 680 hard resetand select HotSync Palm Treo 680 hard reset. If you see your device name in the upper-right corner, the hard reset was not successful.

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.