Resetting your communicator

Under normal circumstances, you will not have to use the reset button. On rare occasions,
however, your communicator may no longer respond to buttons or the screen. In this case, you
need to perform a reset to get your communicator running again.
Performing a soft reset
A soft reset tells your communicator to stop what it’s doing and start over again. All records and
entries stored in your communicator are retained with a soft reset. After a soft reset, the Welcome
screen appears, followed by the General Preferences screen (to set time and date).
To perform a soft reset:
1. Unscrew the tip of the stylus to access the reset tool.

Palm Treo 180 hard reset

2. Use the reset tool to gently press the reset button inside the hole on the back panel of your
communicator.
Tip: You can also use the tip of an unfolded paper clip (or similar object without a sharp tip).

Palm Treo 180 hard reset

 

Performing a Treo 180 warm (or safe) reset

A warm (or safe) reset bypasses system extensions on your communicator, such as HackMaster
hacks or system patches. Performing a warm reset enables you to uninstall a third-party
application that may be causing a problem.
To perform a warm (or safe) reset:
1. Press and hold the top scroll button on the front panel of your communicator.
2. While holding down the top scroll button, use the reset tool (or similar object without a sharp
tip) to gently press the reset button.
3. When the system screen appears, release the top scroll button.

 

Performing a Treo 180 hard reset

With a hard reset, all records and entries stored in your communicator are erased. Never perform
a hard reset unless a soft or warm reset does not solve your problem.
Note: You can restore any data previously synchronized with your computer during the next
HotSync operation.

To perform a hard reset:

1. Press and hold the power button on the top of the communicator.
2. While holding down the power button, use the reset tool (or similar object without a sharp tip)
to gently press and release the reset button.
3. When the system screen appears, release the power button.
4. When a message appears on the communicator screen warning that you are about to erase
all the data stored on your communicator, do one of the following:

  • Press the top scroll button on the front panel of your communicator to complete the hard reset and display the Digitizer screen.
  • Press any other button to perform a soft reset.

Note: With a hard reset, the current date and time are retained. Formats Preferences and
other settings are restored to their factory default settings.
5. If the language selection screen appears, select the same language you selected for your
desktop software. Choosing a different language may result in loss of data

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.