Palm Pre hard reset


Palm Pre hard reset using buttons

If you can’t do a full erase using the screen, you can use a keyboard shortcut.
Press and hold Option + Sym + power .

Restart your phone
If an application freezes, first try restarting your phone. No files or settings are changed when you restart.
An occasional restart can be good for your phone just the way a restart can be good for your computer. Every once in a while, restart your phone.
1 Open Device Info .
2 Tap Reset Options and tap Restart.

NOTE If the screen does not respond to taps, press and hold power while you slide the ringer switch three times to restart your phone.

Erase data and reset your phone
If restarting your phone does not solve the problem of application freezes,
you may need to reset the phone. A reset deletes some or all information
from your phone (depending on the type of reset you select). After a reset,
you must follow the prompts to sign in to your Palm profile again before you
can use your phone.
IMPORTANT You should perform a manual backup of your data before resetting
your phone
1 Open Device Info .
2 Tap Reset Options.
3 Do one of the following:
• To erase any applications you installed from App Catalog, as well as
any information associated with those applications: Tap Erase Apps
& Data twice.
• To erase all files stored in USB drive storage, such as pictures, videos,
and music: Tap Erase USB Drive twice.
Palm Pre hard reset


• To erase both your applications and USB drive storage files, as well as information about your Palm profile: Tap Full Erase. If you want a clean erase of your currently installed apps and files but plan to continue using the phone, tap Full Erase again. If you plan to give the phone away and you do not want your data and files to be recoverable even using a third-party tool, tap Secure Full Erase.
This performs a complete wipe of the phone. Note that a secure full erase takes considerably longer than a “regular” full erase.
About the full erase options.
In most cases, you can perform a “regular” full erase if you want to erase downloaded applications and USB drive storage files from your phone.
Perform a secure full erase when you give your phone to somebody else and you don’t want that person to be able to access your data.
Regardless of which full erase option you choose, all your data on the web— in your online accounts and in your Palm profile—is untouched.
After either type of full erase, you can sign in to your Palm profile either on a new webOS phone or the same phone you just erased. Signing in restores your Palm profile data and information from online accounts, but not your stored files such as pictures, videos, and music.

Erase Apps & Data: Erases any applications you installed from App Catalog, as well as any information associated with those applications.
Erase USB Drive: Erases all files stored in USB drive storage, such as pictures, videos, and music.
Full Erase > Full Erase: Erases both your applications and USB drive storage files, as well as information about your Palm profile. Select this option if you want a clean erase of your currently installed apps and files but plan to continue using the phone.
Full Erase > Secure Full Erase: Erases both your applications and USB drive storage files, as well as information about your Palm profile. Select this option if you are planning to give the phone away, and you want your data and files to be unrecoverable even using a third-party tool.

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.