Palm Pilot hard reset

If you have assigned a password and locked your PalmPilot, a hard reset is the only way to continue using your PalmPilot.

Resetting the PalmPilot™ Connected Organizer
A reset button can be activated through a hole in the back panel of your PalmPilot. Under normal circumstances, you will never have to use the reset button. However, on rare occasions your PalmPilot may “hang” (no longer respond to buttons or the
screen). In this case, you need to perform a reset to get the PalmPilot running again.
Soft Reset
A soft reset tells PalmPilot to stop what it’s doing and start over again. All records and entries you have stored in your PalmPilot
are retained with a soft reset.
To perform a soft reset:
Use the tip of an unfolded paper clip (or similar object without a sharp tip) to gently press the reset button, as shown in the
following diagram:
Palm Pilot hard reset
Following a soft reset, the Welcome to PalmPilot screen appears, followed by the General Preferences screen (to set time and date).

PalmPilot.
Hard Reset
A hard reset also tells PalmPilot to start over again. With a hard reset, all records and entries stored in your PalmPilot are erased.
Therefore, never perform a hard reset unless a soft reset does not solve your problem.
Note that any data previously synchronized with your desktop computer will be restored at the next HotSync.
To perform a hard reset:
1. Hold down the green power button on the front panel of the PalmPilot organizer.
2. While holding down the power button, use the tip of an unfolded paper clip (or similar object without a sharp tip) to
gently press the reset button.
3. A message prompt appears on the PalmPilot organizer’s screen, warning that you are about to erase all the data stored
on your PalmPilot:
Press the up scroll button on the PalmPilot organizer’s front panel to complete the hard reset. The Digitizer screen
appears, the same as starting PalmPilot for the first time.
Or, press any other button to perform a soft reset.
Note: With a hard reset, the current date and time are retained. Format preferences and other settings are restored to their factory default settings.

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.