Resetting your Palm LifeDrive device
On rare occasions your device may not respond when you press a button or tap the screen. In this
case, you need to reset your device.
Doing a soft reset
A soft reset tells your device to stop what it’s doing and start over again. None of your information
will be lost. After a soft reset, a screen appears that lets you reset the date and time, if needed.
To do a soft reset, use the tip of the stylus to gently press the reset button on the bottom of your
device.

Palm Lifedrive reset

If your device does not respond after a soft reset, you need to do a hard reset.

Doing a Palm Lifedrive hard reset
Only do a hard reset if a soft reset doesn’t solve your problem, or if you want to clear all of your
information from your device.

A hard reset deletes all records and entries stored on your device, including the
username that identifies the device. This is another reason why it's important to synchronize
often, so you have an up-to-date backup available. Before you do a hard reset, be sure to do a full sync.

1 Slide the power switch to the right and hold it in that position.
2 While holding the switch to the right, use the tip of the stylus (or a similar object
without a sharp tip) to gently press and release the reset button on the bottom
of your device.
3 Wait for the reset screen to appear, and then release the power switch.

Palm Lifedrive reset

4 On the reset screen, do one of the
following:
Quick Erase Press Up on the 5-way
navigator to do a Quick Erase reset.
This eliminates user information on
the drive in such a way that there is
no info available to anyone using the
device. A Quick Erase reset takes
approximately 5 minutes.
Secure Erase Press Down on the
5-way to do a Secure Erase reset.
This completely deletes all user info
on the drive. A Secure Erase reset
takes about 20-25 minutes.

Tip
When doing a Secure
Erase reset, be sure that
the AC charger is
connected to your device
and plugged into an
outlet.
Tip
When the reset screen
appears, press Center on
the 5-way to cancel the
hard reset and keep all
info on your device.

Palm Lifedrive hard reset

IMPORTANT: Do a Secure Erase reset if you are turning the device over to a
new owner. A Secure Erase helps prevent your files from being restored or
recompiled by a new owner who might remove the hard drive and use a drive
reader to access your information. Do a Quick Erase reset for a regular hard
reset, to get your device to wake up and respond again.

NOTE: If you use a password to protect your device, you must do a Secure
Erase when you hard reset your device; the Quick Erase option does not appear
on the reset screen.

During the reset process, a status screen appears with the words “Quick Erase”
or “Secure Erase” and a progress bar, followed by screens showing the
palmOne, Palm Powered™ and LifeDrive™ logos.

5 When prompted, tap to align the screen, and then select the language you want
to use on your device. A screen appears showing the palmOne logo and a
progress bar.

Palm Lifedrive hard reset

Palm Lifedrive hard reset

6 When the Welcome screen
appears, the hard reset is
complete. Follow the instructions
to set up your device.
Done

Palm Lifedrive hard reset

Restoring your information after a hard reset
If you synchronized before doing a hard reset, you can now put that information back on your
device. However, you may need to re-enter some of yourpersonal settings.




Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.!