Performing a Palm 3c soft reset

A soft reset tells your organizer to stop what it’s doing and start over
again. All records and entries stored in your organizer are retained
with a soft reset. After a soft reset, the Welcome screen appears,
followed by the General Preferences screen (to set time and date).
To perform a soft reset:
n Use the reset tip tool, or the tip of an unfolded paper clip (or similar
object without a sharp tip), to gently press the reset button inside
the hole on the back panel of your organizer.

Palm 3c hard reset

Tip: The metal and plastic stylus that comes with your organizer
has a reset tip inside. To use it, unscrew the metal barrel from
the stylus quill.

 

Performing a Palm 3c hard reset

With a hard reset, all records and entries stored in your organizer are erased.
Never perform a hard reset unless a soft reset does not solve your problem.

Note: You can restore any data previously synchronized with your

computer during the next HotSync operation.

To perform a hard reset:

1. Hold down the power button on the front panel of the organizer.
2. While holding down the power button, use the reset tip tool, or the
tip of an unfolded paper clip (or similar object without a sharp tip)
to gently press and release the reset button.
3. Wait for the Palm Computing® Platform logo to appear; then
release the power button.
4. When a message appears on the organizer screen warning that you
are about to erase all the data stored on your organizer, do one of
the following:
Press the upper half of the scroll button on the front panel of the
organizer to complete the hard reset and display the Digitizer
screen.
Press any other button to perform a soft reset.
Note: With a hard reset, the current date and time are retained.
Formats Preferences and other settings are restored to their
factory default settings.

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.