Resetting Your O2 XDA Nova Device

Soft reset

Occasionally, you may need to reset your device. A soft (or normal) reset of your device clears all active program memory and shuts down all active programs. This can be useful when your device is running slower than normal, or a program is not performing properly. A soft reset is also necessary after the installation of some programs. If a soft reset is performed when programs are running, unsaved work will be lost.

To perform a soft reset

Use the stylus to press the RESET button found at the bottom of your device. Your device restarts and displays the Today screen.

HTC  Touch P3450 Hard reset Soft reset

Hard reset

You can also perform a hard reset (also known as a full reset). A hard reset should be performed only if a normal reset does not solve a system problem. After a hard reset, the device is restored to its default settings - the way it was when you first purchased it and turned it on. Any programs you installed, data you entered, and settings you customized on your device will be lost. Only Windows Mobile® software and other pre-installed programs will remain.

To perform a O2 XDA Nova hard reset

  1. Press and hold the TALK and END buttons, and at the same time, use the stylus to press the RESET button at the bottom of your device.
  2. Release the stylus, but continue pressing the TALK and END buttons until you see the following message on the screen:This operation will delete all your personal data, and reset all settings to manufacturer default. Press Action to restore manufacturer default, or press other keys to cancel.
  3. Release the TALK and END buttons, and then press ENTER on your device.

    Warning! Your device will be set back to factory default settings. Please ensure any additional installed programs and/or user data have been backed up before a hard reset is performed.

HTC Touch P3450 Hard reset  Soft reset

Clear Storage

Another way of clearing the device storage and reset all setings back to factory default settings is to use the Clear Storage feature. You will lose all your data and files on the device storage when you use Clear Storage, so make sure to do a backup first.

  1. Tap Start > Settings > System tab > Clear Storage.
  2. Enter “1234” then tap Yes.

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.