A factory reset is a drastic measure. It permanently erases all your personal data and customized settings, and also removes any programs you have installed

HTC Gratia hard reset Factory Resetting

Performing a factory reset via settings
The most convenient way to do a factory reset is via the phone settings.
From the Home screen, press MENU and then tap Settings.
Scroll down the screen, and then tap SD & phone storage > Factory data reset.
On the Factory data reset screen, tap Reset phone, and then tap Erase everything.

Performing a HTC Gratia factory reset using phone buttons

If you cannot turn on your phone or access the phone settings, you can still perform a factory reset by using the buttons on the phone.
With the phone turned off, press and hold the VOLUME DOWN button, and then briefly press the POWER button.
Press VOLUME DOWN to select CLEAR STORAGE, and then press POWER to reset the device.

2011-01-06

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.