HTC EVO 3D hard reset

To reset the EVO 3D using the device keys:
Important: Make sure to back up important data you have on the device before you reset it.

1. With the device turned off, press and hold the volume button down, and then press POWER.
2. When the device’s display turns on, release the volume button.
3. Use the volume button to select FACTORY RESET, and then press POWER. (All data will be deleted from the device.)

HTC EVO 3D hard reset
Resetting Your EVO 3D Device via menu
Resetting the device deletes all data, including downloaded applications, and resets the device back
to its initial state — the state before you turned on the device for the first time.
Press HOME , Applications/Menu > and tap Settings > SD & phone storage > Factory data reset > Reset phone.

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.