Resetting the Phone


Resetting the phone deletes all data, including downloaded
applications, and resets the phone back to its initial state—the state
before you turned on the phone for the first time.
Important Make sure to back up important data you have on the phone
before you reset your phone.


To reset the phone
1. Press HOME > MENU, then tap Settings > Security > Factory data reset.
2. On the Factory data reset screen, tap Reset phone and then tap
Erase everything.

To reset the HTC Eris phone using phone buttons

 


1. With the phone turned off, press and hold the VOLUME DOWN
and SEND buttons
2. Press the END/POWER button. You will see a screen with 3
Android images at the bottom of the screen.
3. Follow the instructions onscreen to reset your phone.
Tip If your phone hangs or freezes, remove the battery then wait for a few
seconds, and then re-install it. After re-installing the battery, turn on the
phone.

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.