To perform a HP Veer factory restore:

NOTE If you want to erase data on your smartphone while you are still in possession of the smartphone—for example, before you give it to someone else— don’t do a remote erase. Instead, do a partial or full erase of the smartphone itself.

Erase data and reset your smartphone
If restarting your smartphone does not solve the problem of application freezes, you may need to reset the smartphone. A reset deletes some or all information from your smartphone (depending on the type of reset you select). After a reset, you must follow the prompts to sign in to your Palm profile again before you can use your smartphone.

1 Open Device Info.
2 Tap Reset Options.
HP Veer hard reset

3 Tap one of the following:
Erase Apps & Data: Erases all application data and settings, as well as any applications you installed from App Catalog.
Erase USB Drive: Erases all files stored in USB drive storage, such as pictures, videos, and music.
Full Erase: Erases application data and settings, apps you installed, and USB drive storage files. Use Full Erase if you want a clean erase of your currently installed apps and files but plan to continue using the smartphone.
Secure Full Erase: Erases application data and settings, apps you installed, and USB drive storage files. Use Secure Full Erase if you plan to give the smartphone away and you do not want your data and files
to be recoverable even using a third-party tool. Secure Full Erase performs a complete wipe of the smartphone and takes considerably longer than a regular full erase.
4 Tap the button again to confirm your choice.

About the full erase options
In most cases, you can perform a regular full erase if you want to erase downloaded applications and USB drive storage files from your smartphone.
Perform a secure full erase when you give your smartphone to somebody else and you don’t want that person to be able to access your data.
Regardless of which full erase option you choose, all your data on the web— in your online accounts and in your Palm profile—is untouched.
After either type of full erase, you can sign in to your Palm profile either on a new webOS smartphone or the same smartphone you just erased. Signing in restores your Palm profile data and information from online accounts, but not your stored files such as pictures, videos, and music - you must copy those again to the smartphone;

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.