Occasionally, you may need to reset the HP Jornada; for example, you may reset after you restore data from your desktop
PC or when the operating system stops responding.
There are two methods of resetting:
· Soft reset—A soft reset (also called “warm boot”) is similar to restarting your desktop PC. It restarts the operating system
and preserves any saved data, but loses any unsaved data.
· Full reset—A full reset (also called “cold boot”) restores the HP Jornada to its original state, erasing all information,
including saved and unsaved data, you have entered.
To ensure the safety of your information in case a full reset is necessary, you should regularly back up your data to your
desktop PC (using Windows CE Services) or to a CompactFlash Card (using the HP backup application). 

HP Jornada 420 Soft reset

Perform a soft reset after restoring data from a backup file or when the HP Jornada appears to be “frozen” or “locked up.”


To perform a soft reset

1. Use the stylus to press the Reset button on the back of the HP Jornada, as illustrated above.

HP Jornada 420 Hard reset - Full reset


Perform a full reset only when the HP Jornada does not respond to a soft reset. A full reset erases all data you have entered,
including all files, system settings, and programs you have installed. If you have forgotten your password, you also need to
perform a full reset.
Performing a full reset erases all files, programs, and data you have entered. You can restore only data that has been backed
up to your desktop PC or CompactFlash Card.

To perform a full reset

1. Disconnect the AC adapter from the HP Jornada.
2. Remove the battery.
3. Use the stylus to press the Reset button for at least 5 seconds.
4. Reinsert the battery.
5. Restore data to the HP Jornada from your most recent backup file.

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.