Resetting the Hewlett-Packard iPAQ hx2195 Device

Sometimes there is a need to reset your Pocket PC. Resetting the device is known as performing a soft or hard reset.

Performing a HP iPAQ hx2195 Soft Reset

A soft reset stops all running applications, but does not erase any programs or saved data. Be sure to save any unsaved data within
a running application before performing a soft reset.
Perform a soft reset to:
Stop all running applications
  • Install a new application
  • Restart the Pocket PC if it stops responding

To perform a soft reset:

1. Locate the recessed Reset button on the bottom of your iPAQ Pocket PC.
2. Use the stylus to lightly press the Reset button.
The Pocket PC restarts and displays the Today screen.

HP iPAQ hx2190 Hard reset Soft reset

Performing a HP iPAQ hx2195 Hard Reset

Perform a hard reset only when you want to clear all user-installed settings, applications, and data from RAM
(Random Access Memory), where data and applications you have loaded are stored.

CAUTION: If you perform a hard reset, your Pocket PC loses all data and programs not saved in iPAQ File Store.

To perform a hard reset:

1. Press and hold down the Calendar and iTask buttons.
2. While holding down these buttons, use the stylus to lightly press the Reset button on the bottom of the iPAQ
Pocket PC for about two seconds. HP iPAQ hx2190 Hard reset Soft reset

3. When the Pocket PC screen begins to fade, release the Calendar and iTask buttons first, and then remove the stylus
from the Reset button.

Note: If you simultaneously push and hold the Reset, Calendar, and iTask buttons for more than two seconds, the battery
disconnects. To restart the device, either plug the device into the AC Adapter or press the Reset button again.
After performing a hard reset, you may need to reinstall applications stored in iPAQ File Store to restore shortcuts and full
functionality.

4. The Pocket PC resets and powers on.

To return your iPAQ Pocket PC to factory settings after performing a hard reset:

1. Tap Start > Programs > File Explorer > My Device.
2. Tap the iPAQ File Store folder to open it.
3. Tap Edit > Select All.
4. Tap and hold the selected files, then tap Delete.
5. Tap Yes to delete all file in iPAQ File Store.

Clean Reset On Windows Mobile 2003 SE products, a hard (full) reset clears all user-installed settings, applications, and data from RAM (Random Access Memory), where data and applications you have loaded are stored. A full reset should be performed only if a normal reset does not solve a system lockup or failure. A full reset returns the unit to the factory defaults. Remove AC power before performing a full reset.

NOTE: Data in the iPAQ File Store is maintained following a full reset. For all other data, users must restore data from an expansion storage card or PC ActiveSync backup after performing a full reset. On Windows Mobile 5.0 products, a hard (full) reset stops all running programs, but does not clear user data or applications because they are stored in ROM (Persistent Store feature). A hard reset also resets all hardware registers. Users can perform a Clean Reset, in which the product is cleared to its factory defaults. A clean reset returns the HP iPAQ to the default Windows Mobile 5.0 settings with no user data or applications. To perform a clean reset please follow these steps:
  1. Press and hold the Calendar button, the Power button, and the Messaging button.
  2. While holding these buttons, use the stylus to lightly press the Reset button on the bottom of the HP iPAQ.

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.