Reset switch - allows you to perform a soft reset in case the device
malfunctions, or when an application hangs. Press the tip of the stylus on
this switch to reset the system.

ASUS A636N Hard reset Soft reset

ASUS A636N hard reset

ASUS A636N Hard reset Soft reset

To perform a clean reset, press and hold the Speak Asus A639 Hard reset Soft reset button while simultaneously pressing

the Mode Switcher button Asus A639 Hard reset Soft reset and pressing the stylus on the reset switch.

Then a warning message appears. Press Asus Mypal A639 Hard reset Soft reset to do clean reset, or press Asus Mypal A639 Hard reset Soft reset to leave the operation screen.
Performing a soft reset will not change the data in the device; while performing a clean reset will delete all data.

Hard reset Soft reset

General advice: Before you buy a new cell phone or new tablet, please try the following procedure to repair your device in a software way. First charge your battery, backup your important data if possible and in most cases take out SIM and SD card before doing factory reset. It is impossible to recover your data after doing a hard reset, so online backup is always important. For all of your data, a backup should be done on an external device, hard drive, raid system or media. With or without insurance, if your cell phone lost, damaged or stolen at least your invaluable data is backed up in a safe place. If you are about to sell your phone and you want to wipe your personal data, or if your phone affected with virus you have to do a hard reset. In some cases, you can delete the forgotten password or lock pattern from your device as well. All information is for devices with stock based ROMs. If you are using rooted device, always back up your EFS folder first, containing your IMEI info, etc.! Please also note, that a hard reset operation will not unlock your mobile phone's SIM lock or network lock, but it will remove the unlock pattern, remove the user password or PIN password (NOT the SIM card's 4 digit PIN code). Also note that the firmware version will not be affected in any way, it will not be downgraded, it will remain the same you are using and if you have rooted your device, root privileges remain also unaffected.